FBI Refuses to Answer Questions about Al Qaeda Affiliated Terror Web Sites
July 11, 2004
by Jeremy Reynalds
A mysterious internet service provider with apparent ties to al Qaeda
continues to operate as a virtual mouthpiece for the terrorist organization
by using an elaborate web of deception.
The latest site to appear on the Hosting Anime servers is www.hostinganime.com/sout19.
According to Middle East Online (www.middle-east-online.com/english/saudi/?id=10546),
the site contains a message from Fares al-Zahrani, one of the most sought
after terror suspects in Saudi Arabia.
In a message contained on the site, Zahrani rejected an offer to turn
himself in.
"I never contemplated surrendering to any tyrant," Zahrani said in
the message (whose authenticity could not be independently verified)
attributed to him on www.hostinganime.com/sout19/index.htm.
Zahrani also denied he had initiated contacts with a Saudi cleric, Sheikh
Safar al-Hawali, with a view to surrendering.
"This is a lie," he said, according to Middle East Online, calling the
Saudi regime "an infidel and despotic state against which jihad (holy
war) should be waged." Zahrani is on a list of 26 top terror suspects
which has been cut down to 13 since it was issued by Saudi authorities
last December, Middle East Online reported. Half of the militants on
the list have either been killed in clashes with security forces or
surrendered to authorities.
In addition to hosting messages from terrorists, Hosting Anime sites
have been used to provide gruesome pictures of the beheadings of engineer
Paul Johnson and South Korean translator Kim Sun-Il. Despite this, a
special agent in the Phoenix FBI office said his agency's investigations
have led him to conclude that Hosting Anime site operators are not involved
in the murders in any way and that the agency is looking toward the
Middle East.
When asked by a reporter why the owners of Hosting Anime are repeatedly
going out of their way to provide a cluttered trail of false contact
information, the agent refused to answer. He told a reporter that he
really couldn't say anything other than that the reporter was going
down the wrong trail by looking for additional information about the
web site operators.
The agent added ominously, "You could end up helping people you don't
want to help. You may already have." The agent refused to clarify what
he meant by the statement.
The contact information given for Hosting Anime ranges from a mail
drop box in Westchester California, to the telephone number for an apartment
complex in Seattle, to another address and telephone number in Seattle.
When a woman in Seattle whose number was listed as a contact for the
site was called, she initially denied knowing anything about the situation.
However, after talking to her, a reporter was initially contacted by
an individual claiming to be her son. Speaking on condition of anonymity
the individual said he was concerned that his teenage son, who had been
in trouble before, may have somehow gotten mixed up with Hosting Anime.
When that concern was expressed to the FBI, the same agent told a reporter
that the father wasn't concerned at all. The agent refused to elaborate
and a call to the individual who made the statement was not immediately
returned.
Additional research on Hosting Anime (registered to "Mike Smith" of
www.darkfiles.net) has revealed
even more confusion on just who is behind the company. Hosting Anime
tells its web site owners that the company is a partner with www.mysmallurl.com.
Hosting Anime writes, "They provide small URL's ... They currently
have four domains to choose from."
One of those domains is www.vzeu.com.
While www.mysmallurl.com registers
to "Mike Smith" purportedly from Seattle and using a false address and
telephone number, checking on the registration information for www.vzeu.com
takes readers back to www.mysmallurl.com,
this time with different registration information. This time the contact
is given as "ChooChoo,"Matt Kewlies, 2412 Super Court, Yahooville, California
22401.
As Internet terror researcher Johnathan Galt pointed out in a recent
e-mail, there is no 324 area code; there is no Yahooville California,
and the zip code given is for Virginia.
An e-mail to Kewlies requesting comment was not immediately answered.
However, Galt said that Kewlies did leave some clues from his e mails
(www.staindsouls.com/gbook/index.php?page=2,
http://members.lycos.co.uk/dewcurtain/gbook/index.php).
According to Galt, "(Kewlies') e-mail appears as the first post of
a software used for posting comments on websites. ‘You have successfully
installed fusion gbook!' I suspect he may be the programmer."
Galt added, "(Kewlies) AIM handle, amazing2eyedman, also gives a few
hits. He was selling his domain http://www.myfreebb.com/
(in Feb. 2004) and has this email, webmaster@myfreebb.com.
He gave his real name as ‘Matt A.'"
An e-mail by a reporter to webmaster@myfreebb.com was returned as undeliverable.
Also registered to Kewlies is www.animanga.vzeu.com
and www.sean.vzeu.com. "Sean's
Page," which provides a link to Britain's Liverpool Daily Post and the
Liverpool football team web site, gives a non working e-mail address
for Sean (annfinnan@eircom.net).
It also provides a link to a page hosted by Hosting Anime (www.hostinganime.com/david/donate.html)
where readers are invited to send money to "Sean." The name and address
provided for sending donations to "Sean" is David Bannon, Meeltenagh,
Edgeworthstown, County Longford, Ireland.
Hosting Anime's "Mike Smith" also hosts a number of other sites that
include www.Anime200.com, www.BadAssgamers.com,
and www.Giguphosting.com.
Jeremy Reynalds
Jeremy Reynalds is a freelance writer and the founder of
Joy Junction, New Mexico's largest emergency homeless shelter. The shelter
web site is http://www.joyjunction.org.
He was honored with the prestigious Jefferson Award
in 1994. Reynalds emigrated from England to the United States in 1978
and became a naturalized American citizen in 1999. He has a master's
degree in communication from the University of New Mexico and is a candidate
for the Ph.D. in intercultural education at Biola University, located
in La Mirada, California, just outside Los Angeles.
He is also the author of two books and a contributor
to a third, which deals with the media's images of the homeless. He
may be reached by e-mail at jeremy@joyjunction.org.
|